Friday, June 4, 2010

Ten students and three faculty members from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry were recognized by Omicron Kappa Upsilon, a national honor dental society.

The faculty inductees are Richard Burke, clinical assistant professor of pediatric dentistry, and Justine Kolker, Ph.D., assistant professor of operative dentistry. The honorary inductee is Deborah Dawson, Ph.D., professor of preventive and community dentistry and director of biostatistics.

Carole Gleich, a third-year student, received the William S. Kramer Award of Excellence, which recognizes an outstanding junior dental student who has demonstrated scholarship, character and potential promise for the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity.

The OKU honorary dental award is given to faculty and fourth-year dental students. The student recipients are: Ryan Borgwardt, Lacey Greenwald, Jaxon Hoopes, Christi Larson, Michael Schiff, Merideth Smith, Mark Sorensen, Karl Swenson and David Thuet.