Thursday, June 17, 2010

Eighteen University of Iowa faculty members have received Collegiate Teaching Awards for the 2009-10 academic year.

The awards represent the highest honor a college bestows on its faculty for excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching.

The recipients of the 2009-10 Collegiate Teaching Awards are: John Spitzer, Henry B. Tippie College of Business; Karin Weber-Gasparoni, College of Dentistry; David Duys and Pamela Ries, College of Education; Anton Kruger, College of Engineering; Barry Matsumoto, College of Law; Mary Campbell, Steve Duck, Claire Fox, Geoffrey Hope, Sarah Larsen, Luis Martin-Estudillo, and Diane Slusarski, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Gwen Beck and Haraldine (Dee Dee) Stafford, Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine; Kerri Rupe, College of Nursing; Robert Shaw, College of Pharmacy; and Trudy Burns and Shelly Campo, College of Public Health.

Following is a brief biographical sketch of Diane Slusarski:

Diane Slusarski, professor of biology, teaches developmental biology courses with a focus on the dynamic nature of the developing organism. Students praise her passion for teaching and her desire for feedback on her teaching. She engages undergraduate students in the work of her research laboratory where, according to student nominators, she provides a balance of “supervision and autonomy.” They praise her for “building a strong sense of community” and “promoting collaboration” through which students develop as scientists. She encourages students to present their work publicly and is one of the department’s outstanding mentors.